I Guess It’s True What They Say About 10 Meters

I’ve been hearing that the higher bands have been open, but have not been able to check it out myself.

Today, I decided to take a moment, and go see. My first stop was 15 meters. It was dead as a doornail. Well, not exactly. I did hear some local sounds that sound like some kind of telemetry going on. I live near a navy base, so you never know what you may hear. I didn’t hear any CW going on. So I moved on.

I next went to 10 meters. I didn’t expect to find much there since 15 wasn’t sharing up any CW QSOs. I tuned around . . .

To read the rest of this article, please click here: → I Guess It’s True What They Say About 10 Meters

FCC Issues Report and Order on Vanity and Club Station Call Signs

SB QST @ ARL $ARLB027 ARLB027 FCC Issues Report and Order on Vanity and Club Station Call Signs

ZCZC AG27 QST de W1AW ARRL Bulletin 27 ARLB027 >From ARRL Headquarters Newington CT November 11, 2010 To all radio amateurs

SB QST ARL ARLB027 ARLB027 FCC Issues Report and Order on Vanity and Club Station Call Signs

In November 2009, the FCC issued a Notice of Proposed Rule Making (NPRM) — WT Docket No. 09-209 — seeking to amend the Commission’s Amateur Radio Service rules to clarify and codify existing procedures governing the vanity call sign system. The NPRM also sought to revise certain rules applicable to club stations. . . .

To read the rest of this article, please click here: → FCC Issues Report and Order on Vanity and Club Station Call Signs

W1AW 2010/2011 Winter Operating Schedule

SB QST @ ARL $ARLB025 ARLB025 W1AW 2010/2011 Winter Operating Schedule

ZCZC AG25 QST de W1AW ARRL Bulletin 25 ARLB025 >From ARRL Headquarters Newington CT November 8, 2010 To all radio amateurs

SB QST ARL ARLB025 ARLB025 W1AW 2010/2011 Winter Operating Schedule

Morning Schedule:

Time Mode Days ——————- —- ——— 1400 UTC (9 AM EST) CWs Wed, Fri 1400 UTC (9 AM EST) CWf Tue, Thu

Daily Visitor Operating Hours:

1500 UTC to 1700 UTC – (10 AM to 12 PM EST) 1800 UTC to 2045 UTC – (1 PM to 3:45 PM EST)

(Station closed 1700 to 1800 UTC (12 PM to 1 PM EST))

Afternoon/Evening . . .

To read the rest of this article, please click here: → W1AW 2010/2011 Winter Operating Schedule

ARLD042 Dissolution of Netherlands Antilles Creates Four New DXCC Entities

> SB DX @ ARL $ARLD042 > ARLD042 Dissolution of Netherlands Antilles Creates Four New DXCC > Entities > > ZCZC AE42 > QST de W1AW > DX Bulletin 42 ARLD042 >> From ARRL Headquarters > Newington CT October 14, 2010 > To all radio amateurs > > SB DX ARL ARLD042 > ARLD042 Dissolution of Netherlands Antilles Creates Four New DXCC > Entities > > The dissolution of the Netherlands Antilles has caused changes to > the DXCC List. As per the DXCC rules, the two Netherlands Antilles > DXCC entities will be deleted and moved to the Deleted Entities > List. > > Four new entities will . . .

To read the rest of this article, please click here: → ARLD042 Dissolution of Netherlands Antilles Creates Four New DXCC Entities

Global Ionospheric World Map

The Global Ionospheric World Map indicates the frequency in MHz at which a signal transmitted more or less straight up (about 70 – 90 degrees) will no longer bounce back to Earth, but rather escape out into space.

In short, this picture shows the Maximum Usable Frequency (MUF) for Near-Vertical Incident Skywave (NVIS) propagation.

NVIS is the mechanism for reliable HF communications within a region (500 mile radius). Without NVIS, there is a skip zone or dead zone where neither groundwave propagation nor skywave propagation are effective. This skip zone is often a band around the transmission site extending from between 20 miles (where groundwave leaves off) and . . .

To read the rest of this article, please click here: → Global Ionospheric World Map